Small Town Living

Welcome to Vilsbiburg, the German city I’ll be spending my next 7 months living and playing in!

Vilsbiburg is a town of about 11,000 people. I heard that number earlier but it’s hard for me to grasp what it really meant. All of the girls, when they asked how I liked the city, their own first comment was always about how small it is. But it seems a-okay to me. We’re not in the outskirts of some random place. We have a cute little town (I am purposefully not writing city). Once I finally got some time off to stroll around it took me all of an hour and a half to get almost everywhere I should ever want to or need to go. From what I could tell we have the following: 4 Italian restaurants, 5 bakery/cafes, 1 Greek restaurant, 1 Chinese restaurant, 4 hairstyling salons, 5 markets, 2 office supply shops, 2 gardening/florists, 2 Ice cream/gelaterias, movie theatre and 1 bar. Along with some normal shopping and other stuff sprinkled in. What I love about it is this: everything I could want or need is close. It’s s small town, yes, so it has what’s important in close range. I lived in Vienna, a huge city, but on the out skirts. I wouldn’t call it convenient to go to s big grocery store or to get to certain shops. I got lucky with my apartment location too because I live directly across the street from a grocery store and Italian restaurant and I’m actually on the third floor above a pharmacy. My building is full of doctors and has kindergarten! I see lots of pregnant ladies coming up in the mornings. Major props to them for generally taking the 2 flights of stairs instead of the elevator. You go girls! I’m also 2 minute from a cafe, 1 from the volleyball offices, and 5 to everything thing else. That’s all walking mind you. If anything, Vilsbiburg (for now) brings truth to the phrase “bigger isn’t always better.”

This is the view from my apartment window. Grocery store on the left, Italian restaurant on the right. Score!

This is the view from my apartment window. Grocery store on the left, Italian restaurant on the right. Score!

Vilsbiburg

Stores & Cafes

Stores & Cafes

We've got water!

We’ve got water!

Lots of action in the City Center

Lots of action in the City Center

Entering the Center

Entering the Center

Leave a Reply

